Taro (mother2012) wrote,

Warning! Probably a scam.

I just received the following email:

Dear member,

This email confirms that you have paid orders@dell.com $699.99 USD using PayPal.

This credit card transaction will appear on your bill as "PAYPAL *DELL INC".


Payment Details

Purchased From:Dell.Inc

Item # Item Title Quantity Price Subtotal
250016390196 New Dell 6400 e1505 Intel Core Duo 1.66GHz 1GB Laptop 1 $669.95 USD $669.95 USD

Shipping & Handling via USPS First Class Mail to 154XX
(includes any seller handling fees) $19.16 USD
Shipping Insurance (optional): --
Sales Tax (6.000% inPA) : $10.88 USD

Total: $699.99 USD
Note:Thank you!


Shipping Information

Shipping Info: Wayne E Bakewell
16 elm st
Brownsville, PA 15417
United States

Address Status: Confirmed


If you have questions about the shipping and tracking of your purchased item or service, please contact the seller orders@dell.com.


Do you confirm this transaction?

If this transaction was not made by you please immediately take the following steps:

Login to your account by clicking on the link below
Provide requested information to ensure you are the owner of the account
Find this transaction in HISTORY and click 'Cancel Transaction'

CANCEL TRANSACTION! (This is a button)

Thank you for using PayPal!
The PayPal Team

Please do not reply to this email. This mailbox is not monitored and you will not receive a response. For assistance, log in to your PayPal account and choose the Help link located in the top right corner of any PayPal page.

PayPal Email ID PP843

Scary! My first instinct is to click that button and say, HEY!! I did no such thing!!! But since when does PayPal ask you to verify a purchase?

The tipoff to me that this is a scam is the "Provide requested information to ensure you are the owner of the account".

I've emailed PayPal.
  • Post a new comment


    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    Your IP address will be recorded 

    When you submit the form an invisible reCAPTCHA check will be performed.
    You must follow the Privacy Policy and Google Terms of use.